Once Upon Me…

Once upon a time,

when I used to read,

I’d stick myself in a book

and not come out till I’d caressed the back cover

and lovingly hugged the front to my bosom.

Once upon a time,

when I used to laugh

with my head flung back;

my entire being carrying the effervescent joy carefully,

in a bottle of contentment.

Once upon a time,

when I’d cry with my whole soul;

whatever I cried for meant the world to me,

and the tears were meaningful,

and inspiring.

Once upon a time,

when I had friends whom I loved fiercely,

and dosed myself with their company regularly.

Once upon a time,

when I believed in trust,

and the power of tender emotions,

and gave of myself as best I knew how.

Once upon a time,

when life was just a string of adventures to be had,

and the world was a safe, beautiful place.

Once upon a time, darling,

I was me.

Once Again

I’m throwing my bouquet of experience behind me,

knowing that my future self will catch it;

a sign of newness to come.

11 thoughts on “Once Upon Me…

What do you think?

