Faraway Lover

image

Image credits: @pam_E_chic

I soaked you up
when we were together.

Touched you,
kissed you,
stared and stared,
teased and tormented.

I soaked you in
when we were together.

Licked your skin,
tickled your beard,
scratched your chin,
watched you smile
and laugh and frown and sleep.

I soaked you up
when we were together.

Sang with you,
argued with you,
lay with you,
smoked with you.

I soaked you all up
when we were together.

Or so I thought.

Because all I have is
hot flashes, broken memories,
fading flashbacks,
fickle holograms of you,
dreams filled with empty longing.

Why didn’t I soak you all in,
when we were together?

One thought on “Faraway Lover

What do you think?

